Update on my Coding journey (14/10/2021)

Hello reader, in this week of blogging I will be talking about going back to university to finish My in university, How the added workload of the university is affecting my Python progress.

Going Back to University

I went back to university this week and im getting back into the rhythm of the university. Going back to lectures [online & in-person] and the long nights pre-reading and writing up lecture notes and friends. Im going to be completely honest with you reader, this week the university has given me so much work it feels like im spending every waking moment catching up on writing lecture notes. I did expect it will be a tricky year since it’s the final year, but I did not expect it to be this intense. The reason why this is a bit of a problem is that this is impacting the number of hours I can put into coding, so these next few months will be very difficult for me in terms of finding time to stay on top of university and coding. To illustrate how to use the documentation

University is affecting my progression with coding, before university I was able to do 10 hours worth of coding each week compared to 4 this week. This means I need to be more rigorous with my time management if I hope to reach the targets I set for myself. So I created a weekly plan and I will update you guys if I’m successful in keeping on top of university work and learning the tools required for Data-science.

##How to use the documentation

Using Dataquest this week I learnt about the importance of documentation and how helpful it can be. But first, what is the documentation? ‘The written text or image that comes with computer software or is included in the source code is known as software documentation. The documentation either explains how to use or how to run the software.’ Using Dataquest, they urged me to use documentation to solve a bug in a code [the task]. This was beneficial since Dataquest is preparing me to be independent of the platform.

##Completed some problem sets on functions and dictionaries

This week, I spent most of my time completing problem sets around functions and dictionaries, this is because the logic isn’t completely ingrained yet, so it’s taking me some time. But, it’s fun so this was really an issue, I enjoy trying to find solutions to the problem sets they gave me since there are multiple solutions and im always encouraged to find my way of tackling certain problems. These problem-sets are building my fundamentals as a coder. Guys if you want to develop your problem-solving skills and acclimatise the syntax of code I suggest using problem-sets as a way to learn.

##Conclusion

I don’t have much to say this week, but I just started using the Jupyter notebook, which will be discussed next week when I have created my first guided project from Dataquest. Thank you for reading my blog please follow if you want to continue learning about my journey.

By SKL